Political Economy and the Good Life: The 2024 Postliberalism Conference

Centre for Social Renewal, Energeia and the Telos-Paul Piccone Institute

13-14 December 2024 McCrum Lecture Theatre, Corpus Christi College, University of Cambridge

Friday 13th December 2024

09.00 - 09.30	Arrival, registration and coffee
09.30 – 10.00	Welcome and overview: The Good Life and Political Economy – John Milbank, José Alberto Garibaldi (Energeia) & Mark S. Weiner (Telos-Paul Piccone Institute)
10.00 – 11.30	Keynote 1: Michael Lind – Pluralism and the Social Constitution
	Moderator: Michael Gove (TBC)
	Panel discussion with Claire Ainsley, Jon Cruddas and Adrian Pabst
11.30 – 12.00	Coffee
12.00 – 13.30	Plenary Session 1: The Crisis of Contemporary Capitalism and Civil Society
	Moderator: Alison Milbank
	Panellists: Luigino Bruni, Frances Foley and Brian Griffiths
13.15 – 14.15	Lunch
14.15 – 15.45	Plenary Session 2 : Beyond Global Capitalism and the Ecological Crisis: rebuilding national economies and societies
	Moderator: TBC
	Panellists: Sohrab Ahmari, David Engels, Mary Harrington and Wolfgang Streeck
15.45 – 16.15	Теа
16.15 – 17.45	Plenary Session 3: Economic Democracy and Political Participation
	Moderator: Hannah Barnes (TBC)
	Panellists: Dan Carden MP, Jonathan C.D. Clark, Will Hutton, Munira Mirza and Matthew Crawford (TBC)
17.45 – 19.15	Plenary Session 4: Geopolitics, Ecology and the International Economy

Moderator: José Alberto Garibaldi

Panellists: Richard Beardsworth, Maurice Glasman, Cameron Hepburn (TBC), Aris Roussinos and Harald Winkler (TBC)

19.30 Conference dinner

Speaker: Charles Taylor (TBC)

Saturday 14th December 2024

09.00 - 09.30	Coffee
09.30 – 11.00	Keynote 2: John Milbank: The Politics of Virtue – A postliberal manifesto
	Moderator: TBC
	Panellists: Susannah Black Roberts, Tom McTague (TBC) and Imogen Sinclair
11.00 – 11.30	Coffee
11.30 – 13.00	Plenary Session 5: Left conservatism: the future?
	Moderator: Jason Cowley
	Panel discussion with Phillip Blond (TBC), Miriam Cates (TBC), Dan Hitchens, Katja Hoyer and Vidal Romero (TBC)
13.00 – 13.45	Lunch
13.45 – 15.15	Plenary Session 6: Imagination and action: combatting the machine
	Moderator: Esmé Partridge
	Panellists: Tara Burton, Paul Kingsnorth, Alison Milbank and James Noyes
15.15 – 15.45	Теа
15.45 – 17.15	Plenary Session 7: Pursuing the Good Life: Nature, Demography and Politics
	Moderator: Andy Scerri
	Panellists: Ian Marcus Corbin, David Goodhart, Ruth Davis (TBC), José Alberto Garibaldi and Tobias Phibbs
17.15 – 18.45	Plenary Session 8: Renewing the West
	Moderator: Adrian Pabst

Panel debate with Rémi Brague (TBC), Tom Holland, David Pan, Lola Salem and Sebastian Milbank

18.45 – 19.30 Drinks and departure

Speakers

Sohrab Ahmari, Co-founder and Co-Editor, Compact Magazine

Claire Ainsley, Director of the Project on Center-Left Renewal, Progressive Policy Institute; Director of Policy, Labour Party (2020-22)

Hannah Barnes, Associate Editor, New Statesman; author of Time to Think: The Inside Story of the Collapse of the Tavistock's Gender Service for Children (2023)

Richard Beardsworth, Professor of International Relations, University of Leeds

Phillip Blond, Director, ResPublica

Rémi Brague, Emeritus Professor of Arabic and religious philosophy, Paris Sorbonne, and Romano Guardini chair of philosophy, Ludwig Maximilian University, Munich

Luigino Bruni, Professor of Economics, LUMSA University Rome

Tara Isabella Burton, author and novelist

Dan Carden MP, Labour Member of Parliament, Liverpool Walton

Miriam Cates, former Conservative Member of Parliament for Penistone and Stocksbridge

Jonathan C.D. Clark, historian

Ian Marcus Corbin, philosopher at Harvard Medical School

Jason Cowley, Editor-in-Chief, The New Statesman

Matthew Crawford, writer and research fellow at the Institute for Advanced Studies in Culture, University of Virginia

Jon Cruddas, author of *The Dignity of Labour* (2021) and *A Century of Labour* (2024); former Labour MP for Dagenham and Rainham

Ruth Davis, Deputy Director for Policy, RSPB

Will Dunn, Economics Editor, The New Statesman

David Engels, Chair of Roman History, Université Libre de Bruxelles and senior analyst, Instytut Zachodni, Poznań

Frances Foley, Deputy Director, Compass

José Alberto Garibaldi, Director, Energeia Network; Lead, Learning by Doing initiative

Maurice Glasman, Labour Life Peer; Director, Common Good Foundation

David Goodhart, Head of Demography, Immigration & Integration, Policy Exchange

Michael Gove, Editor, The Spectator; former Cabinet Minister (2010-2024)

Brian Griffiths, Conservative Life Peer; former Head of No 10 Policy Unit

Mary Harrington, Contributing Editor, UnHerd and author of Feminism against Progress (2022)

Cameron Hepburn, Battcock Professor of Environmental Economics at the Smith School of Enterprise and the Environment, University of Oxford

Dan Hitchens, Senior Editor, First Things

Tom Holland, historian and author

Katja Hoyer, Visiting Research Fellow, King's College London, and author of Beyond the Wall (2023)

Will Hutton, President, Academy of Social Sciences; columnist, *The Observer*, author of This Time No *Mistakes* (2024)

Paul Kingsnorth, writer

Michael Lind, academic and writer; author of The New Class War (2020) and Hell to Pay (2023)

Tom McTague, Political Editor, UnHerd

Alison Milbank, Emeritus Professor of Theology and Literature, University of Nottingham

John Milbank, Emeritus Professor of Religion, Politics and Ethics, University of Nottingham

Sebastian Milbank, Online Editor, The Critic

Munira Mirza, Director, Civic Future; Head of the No 10 Policy Unit (2019-2022)

James Noyes, Senior Fellow, Social Market Foundation

Adrian Pabst, Professor of Politics, University of Kent, and author of Postliberal Politics (2021)

David Pan, Editor, Telos

Tobias Phibbs, Deputy Director, Common Good Foundation

Aris Roussinos, Contributing Editor, UnHerd

Jonathan Rutherford, academic and Contributing Editor, The New Statesman

Lola Salem, Lecturer in Music (Oriel), University of Oxford

Freddie Sayers, Editor-in-Chief, UnHerd

Andy Scerri, Associate Professor, Department of Political Science, Virginia Tech

Imogen Sinclair, Director, New Social Covenant Unit

Wolfgang Streeck, Emeritus Professor of Sociology, Max-Planck Institute for the Study of Societies, Cologne, Germany

Charles Taylor, philosopher and author

Mark S. Weiner, Executive Director, Telos-Paul Piccone Institute

Harold Winkler, Affiliated Researcher, Stockholm Environmental Institute